Current Issue
 Back Issues
 FFC Winery
 Contact Us
 Terms of Use

Vol. 8, No. 1

Volume 8, Number 1
Spring 2004/The California Issue

Clark Blaise is the author of eighteen books, nine of them short story collections. His most recent publications include Montreal Stories and Time Lord: Sir Sandford Fleming and the Creation of Standard Time. Blaise has received Canada's Pearson Prize, the President's Medal for Best Story in Canada, and an American Academy of Arts and Sciences Award. He is president of the Society for the Study of the Short Story and a professor of Humanities and English at Southampton College of Long Island University in New York. He lives in San Francisco and Southampton.

Andrew Sean Greer is the author of four books, including the bestsellers The Story of a Marriage and The Confessions of Max Tivoli, and the recipient of the California Book Award, the Northern California Book Award, and the New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award for writers under thirty-five. His stories have appeared in Esquire, the Paris Review, the New Yorker, and Zoetrope: All-Story, among other publications. In 2007, he was a judge of the National Book Award.

John King is the San Francisco Chronicle's urban design writer and a two-time finalist, in 2002 and 2003, for the Pulitzer Prize in Criticism. He grew up in Walnut Creek, California, and lives in Berkeley and tends to head toward the coast rather than the mountains.

Nina Marie Martínez was born in San Jose, California. She resides in Santa Cruz, where she is an accomplished flea marketeer and enjoys roller skating and Major League Baseball. Her first novel, ?Caramba!: A Tale Told in Turns of the Card, will be published by Alfred A. Knopf in April 2004.

Richard Matheson is the bestselling author of Hunted Past Reason, I Am Legend, Hell House, Somewhere in Time, The Incredible Shrinking Man, A Stir of Echoes, The Beardless Warriors, The Path, Seven Steps to Midnight, Now You See It . . ., and What Dreams May Come. A Grand Master of Horror and past winner of the Bram Stoker Award for Lifetime Achievement, he has also won the Edgar, the Hugo, the Spur, and the Writers Guild awards. He lives in Calabasas, California.

Stacey Richter has won three Pushcart Prizes and a National Magazine Award, and her fiction has been published in GQ, Granta, and elsewhere. She is the author of the story collection My Date with Satan. More of her work can be found at

Steven Spielberg is one of the most successful and honored filmmakers of our time. Among his myriad honors, he is a three-time Academy Award winner, earning two Oscars for Best Director and Best Picture for Schindler's List, and a third Oscar for Best Director for Saving Private Ryan. He has also received Academy Award nominations for Best Director for E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial, Raiders of the Lost Ark, and Close Encounters of the Third Kind. His other hit films include Jurassic Park, Jaws, and, most recently, Catch Me If You Can and Minority Report. He has just finished shooting his next film, The Terminal, which will be showing in theaters this summer. Mr. Spielberg is a principal partner of DreamWorks SKG, the studio he co-founded with Jeffrey Katzenberg and David Geffen.

Susan Straight's new novel, A Million Nightingales, was just published by Pantheon. "El Ojo de Agua" is part of a collection of stories about Louisiana and California. Her first short story for All-Story, "Mines," was included in Best American Short Stories 2003.

Guest Designer:

Wayne Thiebaud is an internationally renowned American artist and teacher who began his career in 1936 as a commercial illustrator and, briefly, as a Walt Disney animator in Los Angeles. His work is represented in the collections of major art institutions, among them the National Gallery of Art, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Museum of Modern Art, Whitney Museum of American Art, Art Institute of Chicago, and San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. In 1994, President Clinton presented him with the National Medal of Arts in Washington, D.C. Mr. Thiebaud is Professor Emeritus at the University of California, Davis.

Back to Top

© 2001- American Zoetrope
All trademarks used herein are exclusive property of The Family Coppola